RSS Feed

Every Knee Shall TeBOW….

There ya have it. Yet another win for the Denver Broncos who stunned the Pittsburgh Steelers with an 80-yard touchdown strike from Tim Tebow. How did Tebow do that on the first play of overtime for a 29-23 win on Sunday to advance to the second round of the NFL playoffs? One word – God. I know, I know, there are many people who scoff at this whole Tebow thing and there are others that give as much glory to God as Tebow does after each game. The pictured posted today is from the Steelers defeat this past Sunday. Sweet pic if you ask me.

 “Turn to me and be saved,all the ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other. By myself I have sworn; from my mouth has gone out in righteousness a word that shall not return: ‘To me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear allegiance.’ “Only in the LORD, it shall be said of me, are righteousness and strength; to him shall come and be ashamed all who were incensed against him.”  Isaiah 45:22-24

Tim Tebow’s act of bowing humbly to God on one knee in prayer has spread like wildfire. A new term has been coined from this NFL player’s example – it’s called “Tebowing”. But, I would guess that not everyone imitating him is bowing in an act of prayer. God’s words are very clear, whatever you want to call it, Tebowing or bowing, everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, will one day bow in the presence of Jesus. Whether it is in this life, or after this life, every knee will bow in humility to the Father. Sadly, at that moment, many will be doing it for the last time, while others will have the chance to do it forever.

All this should stir a question inside of us – “How often do I pray”? Some of us can answer, “All the time” or “Throughout the day”, yet some may say, “I can’t remember when I last did”. Today, I have made a commitment to give everything I do to God for His glory this week and every week after. I challenge you to do the same. Now, you don’t have to strike a “Tebow” in class before a test, or at McDonalds before you start eating, (as awesome as I think that would be to see someone do) but you can pray from your seat. Look at this fact – if Tim can bow before his Maker with millions of people watching, than you and I can do it in front of a few people at a restaurant, standing in the grocery line or for my friend at school and not be embarrassed or ashamed. I’m thankful for Tim Tebow – he is with a faithful heart using his celebrity to show others his love for his heavenly Father. May the Holy Spirit grant you courage and strength as you seek to praise Him in public.

With Unashamed Public Prayer,

Pastor Janice

About "Get a Life" Youth Group

Youth Pastor at Albany Firsy Church of God in Albany, OR.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

